Skip to content

Goman, Tusken to receive 2023 Rudy Perpich Public Service Award

The award, named after the late Minnesota Governor Rudy Perpich, is presented annually to elected officials or public employees who have exhibited immense dedicate and service to Grandma’s Marathon.

Pete Goman and Mike Tusken have been named the 2023 Rudy Perpich Public Service Award recipients, Grandma’s Marathon announced today.

Both men have been long-serving law enforcement officers in northern Minnesota, with Tusken recently retiring as chief of the Duluth Police Department and Goman still working as a Lieutenant with the Minnesota State Patrol.

Tusken’s role with Grandma’s Marathon dates to the early 1990s, and his role has increased from standing a post on race day to most recently serving as one of the leaders of the safety and security effort for the entire weekend.

After the Boston Marathon bombing in 2013, Tusken played a major role in the rethinking and retooling of many strategies and protocols used by law enforcement agencies during large-scale events, like Grandma’s Marathon. Remembering it as a massive undertaking, Tusken was a leader in directing and marshaling the services of several local, state, and federal agencies for race weekend, helping to create a safety and security blueprint that’s still used today.

“The names have changed over the years, but our commitment to continuous improvement has been constant,” Tusken said. “Putting on such an amazing event is made possible by all the great people in this community, and I have fond memories of those people who worked tirelessly behind the scenes to always make Grandma’s Marathon a safe and spectacular event.”

Tusken retired from the Duluth Police Department in July 2022 after 30 years with the organization, including the last six as chief of police.

Goman, meanwhile, still holds his role as Lieutenant with the Minnesota State Patrol and is another integral piece of the pre-race safety and security planning as well as the race weekend staffing of Grandma’s Marathon.

Having grown up in Duluth, Goman’s first involvement with the marathon came as a member of the Boy Scouts Troop 9 water station volunteer group. Today, he and the State Patrol assist primarily with traffic control and security during race day, but have also some years provided resources for air support and explosive detection.

“Each year, I’m amazed by the collaboration that occurs in the planning stages of the race,” Goman said. “Everybody comes to the table ready to do their part and, in many cases, more than their part. There are so many people who have spent countless hours developing, modifying, and executing a fantastic plan for Grandma’s Marathon, and I’m happy to have been part of it and to accept this award on their behalf.”

For several years now, Goman has held one of his favorite roles with Grandma’s Marathon – driving the lead Minnesota State Patrol vehicle to escort the lead elite runners on the racecourse from Two Harbors to Duluth.

The award, named after the late Minnesota Governor Rudy Perpich, is presented annually to elected officials or public employees who have exhibited immense dedicate and service to Grandma’s Marathon.



Carey Johnson, Bob Shene






Phil Olsen, Joe Tarnowski


David Montgomery, William Stovern


Kevin Gray, Erik Rish


Don Ness, Roger Reinert


Kevin Hakala, Shawn McGovern, Brad Wick


Jim Benning, Bob LeDoux, Earl Stewart


Tom Ehle, Brad Miller, John Schlangen


Steve Anderson, Gary Doty, Paul Scanlan


Scott Collver, Joshn Foschi, George Lewis


Al Goodman, Kent Lunda, Ed Moroney


Jim Miles, Sharon Montgomery, Doug Nelson


William Amberg, Bob Troolin, Mark Wick


Helene Abbott, Roberta Dwyer, Jim Gorny


Bob Brandt, Richard Hansen, Lenore Johnson



Duluth Denfeld junior halfback Taye Manns had another big game Friday night against North Branch at Marv Heikkinen Field, including a 44-yard touchdown run in the first quarter to give the Hunters a 7-0 lead. Howie /

Friday Prep Football Results